essentialkrot.blogg.se

2013 macbook air external hard drive
2013 macbook air external hard drive






2013 macbook air external hard drive
  1. #2013 macbook air external hard drive mac os x#
  2. #2013 macbook air external hard drive upgrade#
  3. #2013 macbook air external hard drive pro#

#2013 macbook air external hard drive pro#

USB 3.0 is NOT supported by the internal firmware in the newest MacBook Pro so it cannot boot to the drive, but the Operating System itself clearly adds the support for the USB 3.0 device once it is loaded. Once the OS is fully up and running, the USB 3.0 disk shows up fine as a device in Finder, it works at USB 3.0 speed, etc. In fact, when booting holding down the option key, even then the external USB 3.0 drive is not visible on the newer MacBook, but is visible on earlier MacBook. The USB 3.0 drive will NOT boot on the newer MacBook (but it boots fine on the earlier MacBook with only USB 2.0). The USB 3.0 drive is clearly an option in System Preferences, Startup Disk, and I can select the drive just fine. It does support USB 3.0 on the newer MacBook Pro.

2013 macbook air external hard drive

The USB 3.0 external case drive can be read by both machines. In some testing on a MacBook Pro with USB 3.0 and an earlier MacBook Pro with USB 2.0 (no USB 3.0) I've foundīoth will boot to an external disk (a clone of the internal drive) if the drive is in a USB 2.0 case. Use the arrow keys to select which one you want to boot from, and hit the Return key to boot from that volume.

#2013 macbook air external hard drive mac os x#

Your Mac will show you a row of icons of each volume or partition currently connected to the Mac (internally or externally) that holds a Mac OS X installation that you can successfully boot from.

2013 macbook air external hard drive

When you boot your Mac, immediately after the startup chime, hold down the Option key. Booting from an external USB 2.0 drive, whether a flash/thumb drive or a spinning hard drive, is, however, quite slow. I have not specifically measured drive speeds in this scenario I'm just saying that it performs quite well.Īs far as I know, all Macs with USB have been capable of booting from an external drive connected via USB-all the way back to the first iMac circa 1998, which only made use of USB 1.0. When booting from an external spinning hard drive over USB 3.0 on my new MacBook Pro, the external hard drive sends data back and forth to the Mac about as fast as it would if it were installed internally. I know of no reason why it would not work on a MacBook Air.

2013 macbook air external hard drive

I'm currently using parallels desktop 8 really often (sometimes playing an MMO called Star Wars the Old Republic), would it work better with the MBA?Īnd lastly, should I replace my current MBP? IMO, the specs are just horrible and it's kinda slow, but it's just me.Yes, I just got a new Mid-2012 MacBook Pro 13" and did this very thing over USB 3.0. Will it last for that long without too much showing its age, or would an rMBP be better (I'm good in computer science but not in hardware, I would be unable to replace the ram or hard drive on a MBP.)? Is the MBA faster or more powerful than my current MBP?

#2013 macbook air external hard drive upgrade#

As for the hard drive, the 256 GB upgrade is just to costly, so I'm planning to use an USB 3 external hard drive to store my music and the apps I don't use too often. Since money is kind of an issue for me, I don't think I can afford the rMBP, still, I could afford the 11" MBA with 8GB of ram and the core i7. I currently own the basic, 13" late 2011 MacBook Pro (intel core i5 2.4 GHz 4GB ram 500 GB SATA Drive) and as I'm going to college, I'm planning to buy a light but still durable computer, capable of lasting, say, 4 to 5 years while still being able to run recent softwares (and hopefully games.).








2013 macbook air external hard drive